Progress on New Year’s Resolutions

It’s March now…time for a progress check.  Here are my resolutions for 2017, and where I’m at:

  • To write and submit stories and poems.  I haven’t published anything in a full year.
    I had a poem accepted a couple of weeks ago.  I earned pro pay, too.  It’s funny; I’d trunked that poem in 2013 after a few rejections from lower-tier magazines, and then I tweaked it a bit and sent it to a pro-paying magazine and it got in.
  • To lose weight.  I need to lose at least ten more pounds, preferably 20.  I know everyone makes this resolution but (a) I have blood glucose issues, so it’s particularly important, and (b) I’ve already lost 30 lbs and kept it off, so it’s possible.

    I’ve lost a few pounds, mainly because I got sick and lost my appetite for a few weeks.

  • To exercise more.
    No progress yet, unfortunately.  I do try to walk more, inspired by Pokemon Go.  But I do less cardio, so it’s a wash.
  • To use my iPhone less.  I feel like I’m getting addicted to it, and I don’t like the feeling.  WhatsApp takes time away from my kids, and it breaks my concentration and ability to focus on things.
    I’m trying.  I still waste a ton of time, but I try to spend that time writing fiction, instead.
  • To network more and be more aggressive with regard to my career.  I am an introvert who hates self-promotion, and hates conflict more.  The problem is that people around me aren’t like that.
    Working on it.

  • To spend more time reading to my kids.

    Working on it.  I love reading myself, but I get so bored sometimes reading the same stories, slowly, at a three year old’s pace, over and over.  Still, I try.  I am Sam. Sam I am.  *sigh*
Leave a Reply

