Gestational Diabetes

Long story short, I failed my three hour test too.  The ensuing week or two have been a nightmare of blood sugar measurements, chickpeas, fish, and eggs.  But I have been managing.  For the most part my numbers seem to be under control.

This is the first time in my life I have had a really serious illness.  It is scary.  After receiving my diagnosis, I cried for a few days.  I felt dirty.  I felt like I’d brought this on myself by being fat.  The truth is that in early pregnancy, I had a toddler and a full time job, and my father had just died, and my husband was on a surgical rotation.  I really didn’t pay as much attention to diet and exercise as I should have.  I was also very tired, which made it hard to exercise.

In retrospect, I had terrible fatigue that did not lift during my second trimester.  That was a clue.

In a way this diagnosis is a good thing.  It is teaching me to focus on taking care of my mind and body, as opposed to all the other things I have been worrying about.  It is an early warning sign that I am predisposed to Type II.  It has taught me how to eat in order to manage my weight, and that I am able to do that.  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to before, but just that I was clueless and needed some kind of structure and guidance.  I didn’t understand about carbs and glucose and insulin and that too much free glucose was making me fat, and I also didn’t understand that I could get immediate feedback on what I ate by testing my blood sugar.  It has taught me that exercise is not optional.

I would like to think that this diagnosis is a strong impetus to make some positive changes in my life.

2 thoughts on “Gestational Diabetes

  1. sunrainlilies July 3, 2015 / 6:39 pm

    Hanging in there! It’s been more than a month now–it’s still a difficult condition to manage, but I feel less bad about it all and am able to focus on the baby again and not on the disease.

Leave a Reply

