Canceling my dad’s cell phone

I finally pulled the plug and did it last weekend.

The Verizon customer service representative just kept giving me offers trying to get me to keep the line active, even after I’d explained that my father had passed and we simply did not need his phone line any more, for any reason. She kept telling me that she didn’t mean to be disrespectful, so it must be some tasteless, tacky company policy that the service reps just have to keep pushing.

It turned out her own stepfather had passed a few weeks ago. She seemed a lot older than me. I have a colleague in his sixties who said he had just come from visiting his parents in New York. I know I am hardly the only person in the world without a father, but sometimes I can’t help wondering why me.

And after seeing what I saw, I live with this dread that there is nothing standing between me and the same thing that befell my father. That I could get cancer tomorrow. It frightens me.

One thought on “Canceling my dad’s cell phone

  1. The Presents of Presence November 28, 2014 / 2:51 pm

    I ‘like’ your posts not because I like that you are living with all of this, but because I want you to know I have been here, I have read your post and I understand. I remember when I had to do the same for my Dad and it was so hard. Big hugs to you xo

Leave a Reply

