Exercises to Increase Mental Strength

My husband came home at 11 p.m. yesterday and informed me that he wanted to quit his residency and thinks we should move back to India. I don’t think that makes sense just now, although it is also extremely difficult to care for a baby totally alone and also do my best to help my parents.

What I need right now, I think, is not to panic. I can deal with all the challenges, if I can just keep my courage.

Here is a link from Forbes:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/groupthink/2013/12/03/5-powerful-exercises-to-increase-your-mental-strength/

I will find more as I post them.

2 thoughts on “Exercises to Increase Mental Strength

  1. The Presents of Presence July 23, 2014 / 5:18 pm

    Universe works in mysterious ways, don’t you think? You were just writing about moving back and he comes home to agree with you. This just happened to me as well. My husband left his job and is now opening his own business. It is stressful for us all but I am daring to keep positive, open-minded and not allow negativity into my brain. I also have 2 sons and a Mom who needs special care. I understand how stressful life is. Perhaps in weighing the pros/cons to move/stay, you can see in the written word which would be a better fit for you now. Could your parents move with you to India as well? Would your husband be able to finish his residency there as well? I will keep you in my prayers. Perhaps allowing the Universe to show you the way will help. It helped me when I let go of trying to control everything and everyone, making them all happy but not me. I allowed change and it happened within days. Now onto the next chapter. What I was trying to keep afloat with both hands paddling hard, I let go of the paddle and we are still floating. Whew, weight off my shoulders and lesson learning as I write. I hope you can find peace. ♥

  2. sunrainlilies July 24, 2014 / 8:39 pm

    Thank you for the thoughts and support. You have such a wonderful perspective on life. I am wishing your husband all the best with his business; how courageous a decision it is–and how rewarding it has the potential to be. I like your metaphor about the paddle.

    For the moment we are going to stay here and face the storm–my dad’s health is not such that he can travel. But we will keep in the back of our minds the idea that we can go elsewhere someday if we need to. My husband was a practicing physician in India and would not need to do a residency there…the residency–which took him many years to get–is for practicing in the US. I could, and someday I will, write a whole blog post about the ordeals he went through and is going through to be a doctor in the US.

    He came home yesterday at 10 p.m. and did not sound as demoralized as the day before. I think we are going to tough it out here.

Leave a Reply

