I Googled an old friend…

…to find that he’d had a massive stroke in May.

I am told he cannot read at this point, so I cannot drop him a line, or a card.

Also, I am not sure whether I should.

I–with a heavy heart–ended the friendship a few years ago.   After I moved out of his city, I let our communication peter out over a year or two, and one day when we hadn’t talked in a couple of years, I blocked him on Facebook.

It’s one of the few times in my life when I’ve been the one to end an interaction.

The reasons are more complicated than I feel like explaining here.

He never asked me why I disappeared, and I never told him.

But he was a brilliant man, and I am sure he understood.

Leave a Reply

